Dent Denied

Super Bowl XX MVP Richard Dent was denied in his fifth bid for enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Dent, of course, was an integral cog of the ferocious Bears defense of the 80’s. All-time sacks leader Bruce Smith was selected in his first year of eligibility along with Wide receiver Bob Hayes, guard Randall McDaniel, linebacker Derrick Thomas, owner Ralph Wilson, and defensive back Rod Woodson to make up the Class of 2009 Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinees.

Dent’s time is definitely coming and I have no doubt that he will take his rightful place alongside teammates Mike Singletary and Dan Hampton from the vaunted ’85 Bears defense. The Colonel was a 4-time Pro Bowler and 1 time All Pro. At the time of his retirement, he was third all time with 137.5 sacks, behind Hall of Famers Reggie White and Bruce Smith.

Next Bears Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct1:00at New England PatriotsBuy Tickets

Tags: 2009 Hall Of Fame Bob Hayes Bruce Smith Chicago Bears Dan Hampton Derrick Thomas Footabll Hall Of Fame Mike Singletary NFL Ralph Wilson Jr Randall Mcdanial Reggie White Richard Dent Rod Woodson Sports Super Bowl Super Bowl MVP

comments powered by Disqus