Jul 26, 2012; Bourbonnais, IL, USA; Chicago Bears training camp logo during the opening day of training camp at Olivet Nazarene University. Mandatory Credit: Bradley Leeb-USA TODAY Sports

Chicago Bears Training Camp Primer

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

 

The players have all reported (except Sedrick Ellis).  The GM and head coach have spoken, though many of us are still trying to figure out what the hell it is they said.  There will be no contract negotiations and the players aren’t all too happy about it.  Everyone has supposedly passed their conditioning test accountability exercise.  Now, it’s time for some football!!!

If you’re going to camp, my friend Adam over at Chicago Bears Huddle provides some great tips for a great camp experience while the Tribune’s Travel Section has a nice article on the hot spots in and around Bourbonnais.

First practice is today at 9AM, although the first padded practice isn’t until Sunday morning.     Here is the full schedule:

2013 CHICAGO BEARS TRAINING CAMP SCHEDULE
DAY DATE PRACTICE TIME/NOTES THEME DAY
Thursday July 25 No practice – closed to the public
Friday July 26 9:00 – 11:30 am
Saturday July 27 9:00 – 11:30 am Vamos Bears Xfinity
Sunday July 28 9:00 – 11:30 am
Monday July 29 9:00 – 11:30 am
Tuesday July 30 No practice – closed to the public
Wednesday July 31 9:00 – 11:30 am Ladies Day
Thursday August 1 9:00 – 11:30 am
Friday August 2 9:00 – 11:30 am Bears BBQ Bash
Saturday August 3 6:45 pm – 8:45 pm (Soldier Field) Family Fest
Sunday August 4 No practice – closed to the public
Monday August 5 3:15 – 5:00 pm Armed Forces Day
Tuesday August 6 9:00 – 11:30 am
Wednesday August 7 9:00 – 11:30 am Youth Football Day
Thursday August 8 No practice – closed to the public
Friday August 9 No practice – closed to the public
Saturday August 10 No practice – closed to the public
Sunday August 11 3:15 – 5:00 pm Run with Staley
Monday August 12 9:00 – 11:30 am
Tuesday August 13 9:00 – 11:30 am
Wednesday August 14 Break camp – closed to the public
All practices will take place on the campus of Olivet Nazarene University in Bourbonnais, IL unless noted.

You’ll notice quite a difference in the practice schedule as compared to Lovie Smith.  Trestman will conduct most of his practices in the morning, before the heat of the day really kicks in.  There has been a lot of talk about player safety and Trestman’s actions and the schedule reflect that idea.

I expect this camp to have really strong attendance as fans and wannabe experts like me try to get their first look at the Bears under Marc Trestman.  How will the drills be different?  What does the new offense look like?  Can any of the new guys play?

Be sure to check the Bears website for updates, as practice times are subject to change.

I haven’t been to camp in several years but plan to be there on the sidelines on Sunday morning.  Stop over and say “hi.”

BEAR DOWN!!! 

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Next Bears Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 55 Oct1:00at Carolina PanthersBuy Tickets

Tags: Chicago Bears Training Camp

comments powered by Disqus