Bears Clinch NFC North with Convincing 40-14 Win over Vikings


Some may call them lucky, others may call them a team of destiny but whatever you call the 2010 Chicago Bears, it begins and ends with NFC North Champions.   The Chicago Bears are your 2010 NFC North division champions.  Did you ever think you’d see those words strung together into a real sentence after a tumultuous offseason followed up with an 0-4 preseason?  Me neither.

The Bears captured the division at the snowy, frozen University of Minnesota’s TCF Bank Stadium with an impressive 40-17 win over the tumbling Vikings.  A prime time, nationally televised game wouldn’t be complete without a little drama from the ultimate drama queen, Brett Favre.  After being listed as OUT until early this morning, Favre had some sort of a miraculous recovery overnight and wanted to give it a go.

After leading the Vikings to an early 7-0 lead, Corey Wooten helped ensure that we never have to see old #4 again with a vicious sack that seemed to leave Favre lifeless in an icy tomb.  OK, maybe a bit of hyperbole there, but what can you expect from a guy who had to put up with 3+ hours of ESPN’s coverage?   Kidding aside, Wooten’s sack knocked Favre out of the game and seemed to spark the Bears.  Either that or Joe Webb at the controls for the fading Vikings team.

The Bears never looked back and poured it on thanks to another solid performance from Jay Cutler, who finished the day with 14 of 24 for 194 yards and 3 TD’s.  Matt Forte and led the rushing attack with 92 yards.  As nice as the offensive output was, the story of the day was the record-breaking performance by the RIDICULOUS Devin Hester, who set all time mark for return touchdowns with 14 regular season punt and kickoff returns.

There is sooo much more to discuss, we’ll be back with more coverage, but that’s enough for now.  Enjoy the division title, but don’t get too comfortable.  Next order of business?  Hanging on to the #2 seed and a first round playoff bye.

To close, whenever the Bears capture some sort of championship, I think Dennis Green should do the crowning, so here goes: