Packers vs Seahawks – Replacement Refs Blew It with Simultaneous Catch Ruling


Let’s preface this quick post following the Monday Night Football “game” between the Green Bay Packers and Seattle Seahawks by saying this is coming from a Chicago Bears fan with everything to gain by a Packers loss.  The Packers got completely screwed.  You may never see me write that again but this may have been the worst call I’ve ever seen.

On the final play of the game, Russel Wilson heaved up a prayer that was seemingly intercepted by Green Bay Packer defender M.D. Jennings.  Seahawks receiver Golden Tate appeared to get an arm on the ball and wrestle it from Jennings after the interception and a touchdown was ruled.  Check out the game highlights, including the controversial last play here.

In case the replacement refs want to call this a simultaneous catch, here’s the rule right from the NFL Rule Book, Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5:

There was clearly confusion on the part of the refs, as evidenced by this snapshot, where one ref is waving his arms signaling dead ball and another signaling touchdown.

Even after the call of the field was blown, they got a chance to redeem themselves and review the scoring play and the ruling was upheld.  The stadium erupted, Pete Carroll fist pumped and the teams left the field.  Uh, the refs forgot that by rule, an extra point must be attempted.  Teams had to be pulled back onto the field for the try.  All that was missing was the Stanford band on the field.  Mass chaos, confusion.

Again, let me say that the Packers lost and that makes this Bears fan happy.  But at the expense of the integrity of the game?  That’s a tough one to swallow.  If this doesn’t get the NFL back to the negotiating table, nothing will.