Winners and losers of the Chicago Bears 2022 season

Chicago Bears - Daniel Bartel-USA TODAY Sports
Chicago Bears - Daniel Bartel-USA TODAY Sports /
2 of 7
Chicago Bears, Eddie Jackson
Chicago Bears (Photo by Cooper Neill/Getty Images) /

Chicago Bears Winner: Eddie Jackson, S

One of the highlights of the Bears’ 2022 season was the resurgence of safety Eddie Jackson. After developing a reputation as one of the biggest ball hawks in the entire league in 2018, Jackson’s production saw immense regression. He only had a total of two interceptions in the following three seasons and failed to record a single one in both 2020 and 2021.

Though still a fan favorite, it was fair to ponder if Jackson’s best days were behind him. A safety famous for making plays on the ball who had become incapable of coming down with interceptions hardly seemed like a franchise cornerstone. But to the delight of many, Jackson returned to form in 2022, snagging four interceptions and forcing two fumbles in 12 games.

Jackson also appeared to mesh quite well with rookie counterpart Jaquan Brisker. Jackson and Brisker both do different things well, allowing the two to co-exist. Though his season came to an abrupt end after suffering a foot injury against the Jets, Jackson was able to remind the league just how dangerous he is. The Bears were one of the two teams without a pro bowler in 2022, but if there was a case to be made for any Chicago player, it would be Jackson.