These Chicago Bears earn 2020 regular season awards

Chicago Bears (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)
Chicago Bears (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images) /
2 of 6
Chicago Bears, David Montgomery
Chicago Bears (Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images) /

David Montgomery wins the Chicago Bears MVP award

Honorable mentions: Allen Robinson, Khalil Mack

This award was a bit of a toss-up for a while. Each player listed had a considerable argument going for them. None of them, however, had a bigger turnaround or impact like David Montgomery.

Prior to the first Green Bay matchup, Montgomery was having an average season at best. The Bears basically abandoned the run once Nick Foles stepped in as starting quarterback, but that changed once Mitch Trubisky took over again.

In the past six weeks, Montgomery has rushed 116 times for 598 yards and eight touchdowns, while averaging 5.95 yards per attempt. He’s also become more of a receiving threat, averaging 11.29 yards per reception in that same span of games.

Montgomery’s impact has also shifted this Bears offense. Trubisky has become more comfortable now that the run game has opened up more options for him. The team is able to control the tempo of the field and force defenses to load the box.

This surge in play by Montgomery earned him a 1,000 rushing yard year, and with the playoffs coming up, expect the second-year back to be a crucial part of the offense once again.